Special Feature

Emily Couric Research Colloquium

Held on April 22, 2004

On Thursday, April 22, 2004, the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) Advisory Board hosted the inaugural Tri-Annual Emily Couric Research Colloquium at the J. Sargeant Reynolds North Run Corporate Center in Richmond. The colloquium was named in honor of the late Senator Emily Couric, whose tireless efforts created the legislation for the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund.

The CNI Trust Fund issues Requests For Proposals (RFPs) and awards funding in two categories: community-based rehabilitative services and research related to the mechanism and treatment of neurotrauma. The "Couric Colloquium" provided an opportunity for CNI Research Grantees to highlight their projects and share results. It also provided a unique forum in Virginia for researchers to meet and discuss possible collaborative efforts in the future.

Six of the seven members of the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) Advisory Board were in attendance. Thirteen (13) Research Grantees were represented by a Principal Investigator, Co-Principal Investigator, or member of their research team. DRS/CNI staff, grantees' fellow research colleagues, and a CNI Option-B Community grantee also attended. Deputy Secretary Steve Harms and Dr. John Ward kicked off the Colloquium with welcoming remarks and Commissioner Jim Rothrock spoke to the participants during a working lunch about the General Assembly and the CNI Trust Fund. Closing words were provided by Dr. John Ward, Chair of the CNI Advisory Board.

Participants' evaluations reflected a successful and effective program that allowed the Research Grantees to network and learn about the exciting and innovative research being completed by their Virginia colleagues.

For more information please contact Kristie Chamberlain, CNI Program Administrator, chambekl@drs.state.va.us; 804/662-7154.

  1. * CNI Advisory Board Members: the Commissioner of the VA Department of Health: Appointee, Doug Harris, J.D.; the Commissioner of the VA Department of Rehabilitative Services: James A. Rothrock, M.S., LPC; one person licensed to practice medicine in Virginia experienced with brain or spinal cord injury: John Ward, M.D., VCU Health System, Richmond; one person licensed by a health regulatory board within the Department of Health Professions with experience in brain or spinal cord injury rehabilitative programs or services: Patricia Tiernan, R.N., Richmond; one Virginian with a traumatic spinal cord injury or a caretaker thereof: Robert Boyd, III- disAbility Resource Center, Fredericksburg; one Virginian with a traumatic brain injury or a caretaker thereof: Jay McLaughlin, M.S., Richmond (unable to attend the colloquium); and one citizen-at-large who shall not be an elected or appointed public official: Philip Brown, Charlottesville Police Department.
  2. CNI Option-A Research Grantees: University of Virginia Principal Investigators: Drs. Lee, Blackman, Helm, Horwitz, Patrick, Jane & Kern; Virginia Commonwealth University Principal Investigators: Drs. Hamm, Bullock, Reeves, Satin, Wei, Kennedy.

Level A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0  Valid HTML 4.01!  Valid CSS!
This File Was Last Modified: Wednesday August 12 2009